Genealogical Resources in Special Collections & Archives, Bowdoin College Library
Provides an outline of the material available for genealogical researchers in the Special Collections and Archives department. Includes holdings on alumni and others with a connection to Bowdoin, as well as family papers, church records, and other resources.
Ancestry Library
Census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more of individuals from North America, Europe, Australia, and other countries.
Biographical databases
A list of the major biographical databases available at Bowdoin.
Census Schedules
Including names, from the Bowdoin College Library
Current newspaper and
historical newspaper databases
available at Bowdoin College Library.
Sanborn Maps: Maine, 1867-1970
Large-scale maps of Maine towns and cities between 1867-1970. Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970.
And much more. Ask us for more information.
Curtis Memorial Library Genealogy (Brunswick, Maine)
An excellent resource for local and Maine genealogy.
Pejepscot History Center, Brunswick, Maine
Genealogy at the Maine State Library
Digital Collections of the Maine State Archives on the DigitalMaine Repository
Genealogy and Family History Research at MHS, Maine Historical Society
FamilySearch
Sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, which maintains the largest family history library in the world.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries. FamilySearch affiliate libraries have privileges to limited-access FamilySearch databases. Although Bowdoin College Library is not a FamilySearch Affiliate Library, there may be one near you.
USGenWeb Project
Produced by volunteers to provide Internet websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States.
Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
A categorized & cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet.
RootsWeb.com
The “oldest and largest free online community for genealogists;” also contains links to commercial genealogy sites.
