This is the "Home" page of the "Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art History  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bowdoin.edu/art-history Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us!

 

**************

 

Art in the News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Art History Libguide. This page is meant to be a starting point for your research and interest in Art History. The tabs at the top of the page will guide you to information through the library catalog, indexes and databases, image searches, websites that are rich in the hundreds of periods, artists, and places,all related to a subject some call the most liberal of the liberal arts. Do not hesitate to contact Anne Haas, the librarian at the Pierce Art Library, at X3690 or email ahaas@bowdoin.edu.

Databases

To see a list of the most commonly used indexes and databases used for research in Art  History, click on the tab at the top of this page, labeled "Indexes and Databases." You will see explanations of each of the databases, including the dates of coverage.

      
     

    Image searching

    The "Images/ Websites" tab is rich with examples of ways to search for images. Some of these sources are databases which Bowdoin purchases(ArtStor) but many are open websites with varying amounts of information related to the images.  It can be helpful to know how to search for things which are not commercial. To do this, try the advanced search option on Google, and add '.com' to the box which says "But don't show pages that have any of these unwanted words." This will limit your images, but may also give you more historical information and facts about the image. Many commercial sites will have lots of images, and certainly that is valuable as well.

     

    NYT Art News

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    Art Librarian

    Profile Image
    Anne Haas
    Contact Info
    Pierce Art Library
    Visual Arts Center
    725-3690
    Send Email
     

    *************

    Bowdoin College Library ·  Staff Directory · Visit Us · Hours
    3000 College Station, Brunswick ME 04011-8421 · 207-725-3280 ·      facebook   twitter
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip