The American Chemical Society
http://www.acs.org
The ACS is the largest association of professional chemists, produces Chemical Abstracts, and publishes of a score of journals. This site is an excellent stop for Conference Information, chemistry news, employment opportunities. In addition, contents of many ACS journals are available.
Royal Society of Chemistry
http://www.rsc.org
The Chemistry association of the United Kingdom. Access to publications, including contents of Royal Society journals, and the catalog of the Society's very excellent library.
Chemistry Dashboard
https://comptox.epa.gov/dashboard
From the EPA, offers over 760K compounds that can be searched by Systematic Name, Synonym, CASRN, or InChIKey. Results include: Structure, MF, Mass, Chemical Properties, Env. Fate/Transport, Hazard ... Bioassays, Similar Compounds ... Literature, etc.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
http://www.nist.gov
The branch of the U.S. Federal Government concerned with measurements and standards.
Chemistry Now
http://www.nsf.gov/news/special_reports/chemistrynow/
A weekly, online video series that uncovers and explains the science of common, physical objects in our world and the changes they undergo every day.
Chemspider
http://www.chemspider.com/
ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
PubChem
https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). "Open" means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. They collect information on chemical structures, indentifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Web Elements
http://www.webelements.com/index.html
A periodic table on the Internet.
The Webbook
http://webbook.nist.gov
The National Institute of Standards and Technology's databank of thermophysical, spectrum, and other data for over 5000 compounds. You may search by compound name, full or partial formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, ionization energy, or proton affinity.
The 1986 CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
http://physics.nist.gov/cuu/Constants/index.html?/codata86.html
Another web publication of the NIST. Standard values for many different chemical constants.
Statistics for Analytical Chemistry
http://science.widener.edu/svb/stats/stats.html
A site maintained by Dr Scott Van Bramer at Widener University in Pennsylvania, provides information on statistical tests often used by students of analytical chemistry.
U.S. Patent Office Database
https://www.uspto.gov/
Search the titles and abstracts of U.S. patents issued from 1976 to the present. The Aids patent index provides full text and images of Aids-related patents issued by the U.S., Japan and European patent agencies. Patents can usually be obtained from the Patent Office, or borrowed through the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service. Consult the Science Librarian if you need to acquire patents.
Sources that provide information on safe handling, toxicity, disposal of chemical substances are very important. The internet provides some good sites. Remember: get the most current data. Refer to the Science Librarian, or Chemistry Department staff, if you aren't sure the information you have is up to date.
EPA - Assessing and Managing Chemicals
https://www.epa.gov/assessing-and-managing-chemicals-under-tsca
Where to find Materials Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
http://www.ilpi.com/msds/index.html
A very useful site produced by Interactive Learning Paradigms, Inc, copyright Rob Toreki. The federal government requires manufacturers to publish information on the proper procedures for handling chemical substances, and including treatment for accidental exposure or spills. This page provides many links to searchable MSDS databases and other repositories.
