Many more apps are available.
Bowdoin Library general research guides for Government and Legal Studies
| Location (and call number) |
How to get there * |
| Bowdoin Main Libr JK … | H-L Library, 3rd floor, on the left. |
| Bowdoin Main Ref JK ... | H-L Library, 1st floor, on the South (far left) side of the building, in the back. |
| Bowdoin Govt Ref | H-L Library, 1st floor, on the South (left) side of the building, in the back. |
| Bowdoin Govt Doc | H-L Library, basement. Turn right, stop before the movable shelving. |
| Bowdoin Govt Index | H-L Library, basement. Turn right. Go down to the last wide aisle containing carrels before the movable shelving and turn left down that wide aisle. Bowdoin Govt Index will be almost all the way at the end of the aisle on your left. |
* Some of these locations can be tricky to find. Ask at the Circulation Desk (first desk on your right as you enter the Library) for more detailed directions.
Academic Search Complete 1980-
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest periodicals. Most articles in full text.
JSTOR
An archive of full-text articles from selected academic journals in many fields. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue but may not include the most recent three to five years.
Political Science Database 1985-
Database covering leading political science and international relations journals. Substantial percentage of articles in full text.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1920-
Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
An index of official U.S. publications of all kinds--congressional hearings, agency reports and studies, statistics, and more. Coverage back to (at least) 1976; many links to full text.
New York Times [1851-2010] [1980-present] [website]
Washington Post [1877-1996] [1996-present] [website]
Wall Street Journal [1889-1995] [1984-present] [website]
Nexis Uni, national and local newspapers, TV and radio transcripts from the major networks, trade publications, etc.
Access World News. Collection of print and digital-only newspapers, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, videos, and other online sources. Includes both national and international papers. Many non-U.S. sources translated into English. Dates of coverage: Varies-Present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Historical access to many major newspapers. Dates of coverage vary, but many extend back into the nineteenth century.
CQ Magazine
Published weekly. "In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes."
C-SPAN Video Library, provides video of all C-SPAN programming since 1987, many on public policy.
C-SPAN Congressional Chronicle, member information, committee information, votes, recorded and live video proceedings & hearings, and more.
ProQuest Congressional > News & Social Media
Includes: RollCall Newspaper (1998-), CQ Political Transcripts (1995-), Twitter (2014-2018), Press releases (2002-2018), Facebook (2014-2015), Weblogs (2006-2018), video (2007-2018)
Other sources:
More news sources (current, historical, audio/video, and more)
