Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library

Census Schedules (including names): Nonpopulation Census Schedules

Census schedules contain lists of names along with information about them. Also see guides on Census Statistics and Statistical Data.

Nonpopulation Census Schedules

Most of the following nonpopulation census schedules provide names of businesses or individuals along with further information about them: agricultural; manufacturers/industry; social statistics; mortality; and defective, dependent, and delinquent classes.

Note: Some schedules for some states are not available from Ancestry Library. Bowdoin College Library does not hold microfilm for states other than Maine. Some schedules not available at Bowdoin may be available at other libraries or archives. Please ask us.

Schedule Includes names of ... Years taken Availability at Bowdoin
agricultural: information about farms, e.g. name, acreage, machinery, livestock, produce owner, agent, tenant, or manager 1850-1880

Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880, Ancestry Library. (Alternatively: Choose Search/Card catalog. Enter the name of the database: Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880. Then click on that title in the results list on the right.)
Includes agriculture, industry/manufacturers, and social statistics. (The source for the Maine schedules is: Nonpopulation Census Schedules for Maine, 1850-1880. Microfilm. Maine State Archives, Augusta.)

Some fragments of the 1810 manufacturers schedules appear in the 1810 population schedules.

1850: Census schedules for agriculture, industry & social statistics. Maine.
Main Micro Film 3099 reels #1-4

1860: Census schedules for agriculture, industry & social statistics. Maine.
Main Micro Film 3099 reels #4-8

1870: Census schedules for agriculture, industry & social statistics. Maine.
Main Micro Film 3099 reels #8-15

1880: Census schedules for agriculture, industry & social statistics. Maine.
Main Micro Film 3099 reels #16-20

State Samples from the Census of Manufacturing: 1850, 1860, and 1870 (ICPSR 4071)

National Samples from the Census of Manufacturing: 1850, 1860, and 1870 (ICPSR 4048)

manufacturers, industry: information about businesses (may include manufacturing, mining, fisheries, mercantile, commercial, trading) and their products, e.g. name, kind of establishment, goods produced, raw materials, persons employed, machinery, capital, wages, expenses owner or company manufacturers: 1810-1820, 1880;
industry: 1850-1870
social statistics: statistics on crime, real estate, wages, churches, schools, newspapers, libraries, cemeteries, clubs, public debt no names, statistics only 1850-1880
mortality: information on persons who had died during the 12 months preceding the date of the census, e.g. name, age, sex, race, slave or free, marital status, place of birth, length of residence in U.S., place of birth of parents, whether parent foreign born, occupation, month of death, cause of death and where contracted, number of days ill, attending physician individual who had died 1850-1880

U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885, U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules Index, 1850-1880, or U.S. Census Mortality Schedules, New York, 1850-1880, all from Ancestry Library. (Alternatively: Choose Search/Card catalog. Enter the name of the database: U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885; U.S., Federal Census Mortality Schedules Index, 1850-1880; or U.S. Census Mortality Schedules, New York, 1850-1880. Then click on that title in the results list on the right.)
(The source for the Maine schedules for the first database is: Non-population Census Schedules for Maine, 1850-1880. Microfilm, 4 rolls. Maine State Archives, Augusta.)

United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850, FamilySearch

1850 Aroostook County census returns, mortality schedules with index
Main Libr HA412.5 A88 2001

defective, dependent, and delinquent classes: information about the insane, "idiotic", deaf, blind, homeless children in institutions, prison inhabitants, paupers and indigents individual 1880

U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes, Ancestry Library. (Alternatively: Choose Search/Card catalog. Enter the name of the database: U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes. Then click on that title in the results list on the right.)
(The source for the Maine schedules is: Census Schedules for Defective, Delinquent and Dependent for Maine, 1880. Microfilm, 2 rolls. Maine State Archives, Augusta.)

About

For more information, please consult

Sample agricultural schedule, 1880 (partial)

Source: Agricultural schedules 1850 to 1900, in Twelfth Census of the United States,
1900 Census Reports Volume V – Agriculture Part I, Farms, Livestock, and Animal Products