Skip to main content
Research Guides

Census Schedules (including names): Population Census Schedules

Census schedules contain lists of names along with information about them. Also see guides on Census Statistics and Statistical Data.

Population Census Schedules

The population census schedules, a.k.a. the manuscript census or the named census, contain lists of the names of individuals along with information about them. They are made publicly available 72 years following the census in which they were gathered. Links to more information are below the chart. Please ask us for assistance in finding or using census schedules.

Census year (number) Format Location Geographical areas available
1790 (1st) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reel #2 Cumberland, Lincoln, Hancock, York, Washington Counties, Maine
1790 (1st)
(This can be used as an index to the schedules.)
print Heads of families at the first census of the United States taken in the year 1790
Govt Doc C 3.11:
all, i.e.
Connecticut: Govt Doc C 3.11:C76
Maine: Govt Doc C 3.11:M 28
Maryland: Govt Doc C 3.11:M36
Massachusetts: Govt Doc C 3.11:M38
New Hampshire: Govt Doc C 3.11:N 42 h
New York: Govt Doc C 3.11:N42y
North Carolina: Govt Doc C 3.11:N81c
Pennsylvania: Govt Doc C 3.11:P38
Rhode Island: Govt Doc C 3.11:R34
South Carolina: Govt Doc C 3.11:So8c
Vermont: Govt Doc C 3.11:V59
Virginia: Govt Doc C 3.11:V81
online Census Bureau, HathiTrust, Internet Archive all, i.e. Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia.
1800 (2nd) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reel #6 Cumberland, Lincoln Counties, Maine
1810 (3rd) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reel #11 Cumberland, Hancock, Kennebec Counties, Maine
1820 (4th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #33-34 Cumberland, Hancock Counties, Maine
Reel 33. Bridgton, Harrison, Raymond, Cape between Raymond and Standish, Baldwin, Otisfield, Westbrook, Standish, Gorham, Gray, Windham, Portland, New Gloucester, Minot, Poland, Thompson Pond Plantation, Danville, Garrison on Cape Elizabeth, Scarboro
Reel 34. Cape Elizabeth, Harpswell, Brunswick, Durham, Pownal, Freeport, North Yarmouth, Falmouth, Belfast, Waldo, Brooks, Swanville, Prospect, Lincolnville, Belmont, Northport, Searsmont, Knox, Blue Mill, Brooksville, Castine, Deer Isle, Eden, Ellsworth, Gouldsboro, Islesboro, Mount Desert, Orland, Penobscot, Sedgwick, Surry, Sullivan, Trenton, Vinalhaven, Plantation No. 7, Plantation No. 8, Plantation No. 9, Plantation No. 14, Plantation No. 15, Duck Island, Matinicus Island, Butter Island, Eagle Island, Great Spruce Head Island, Little Spruce Head Island, Beach Island, Hog Island, Mark Island, Marshalls Island, Burntcoat (Swans) Island, Placentia Island, Long Island, Black Island, Pond Island, Frankfort, North Division, Frankfort, South Division, Monroe, Jackson, Thorndike, Bucksport, Township No. 8, Township No. 1, Township No. 38, Township No. 33, Township No. 21, Township No. 20, Township No. 27, Township No. 26
1830 (5th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #46 Cumberland County, Maine
1840 (6th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #137-139 Cumberland County, Maine
Reel 137. Cumberland County, city of Portland
Reel 138-139. Cumberland County (excluding the city of Portland)
1850 (7th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #249-251, 252 Cumberland County, Maine
Reels 249-251. Cumberland County
Reel 252. City of Portland
CD-ROM Main Micro Index Film 3100 reels #250-251, 257-258, 272-276 Cumberland, Kennebec, Washington, York Counties, Maine
Reels 250-251. Cumberland County
Reels 257-258. Kennebec County
Reels 272-273. Washington County
Reels 274-276. York County
1860 (8th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #436-437 Cumberland County, Maine
CD-ROM Main Micro Index Film 3100 reels #436-437, 439-441, 449-451, 454-455 Cumberland, Kennebec, Washington, York Counties, Maine
Reels 436-437. Cumberland County
Reels 439-441. Kennebec County
Reels 449-451. York County
Reels 454-455. Washington County
1870 (9th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #539-542 Cumberland County, Maine
Reels 539-540. Cumberland County (excluding the city of Portland)
Reel 541. City of Portland, wards 1-7, and city of Portland Islands
Reel 542. Cumberland County (excluding the city of Portland)
1880 (10th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #477-479 Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin Counties, Maine
Reel 477. Aroostook, Cumberland Counties
Reel 478. Cumberland county
Reel 479. Cumberland county, Franklin county
1890 (11th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library Most of the 1890 census schedules have been lost to fire.
1900 (12th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #589-591 Aroostook, Cumberland Counties, Maine
Reel 589. Aroostook county
Reels 590-591. Cumberland county
1910 (13th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #538-540 Cumberland, Aroostook Counties, Maine
Reel 538. Aroostook county
Reels 539-540. Cumberland county
1920 (14th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
microfilm Main Micro Film 3098 reels #639-641 Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock Counties, Maine
Reel 639. Aroostook county, Cumberland county
Reels 640-641. Cumberland county
Reel 642. Cumberland county, Franklin county, Hancock county
1930-1940 (15th-16th) online, searchable U.S. Federal Census Collection, Ancestry Library all
1950-present (17th-) Population census schedules are not available to the public until 72 years after the census was taken. Thus, the 1950 Census schedules will not be available until 2022.
Census year (number) Format Location Geographical areas available

 

Other sources

Census Forms

Facsimile copies of the enumeration forms since 1850. Online from the University of Minnesota.

Downloadable blank Census Forms, Ancestry.com.

Maps

United States Enumeration District Maps for the Twelfth through the Sixteenth US Censuses, 1900-1940. FamilySearch. Citing NARA microfilm publication A3378. About the microfilm.

Finding ED Definitions for [1880/1900/1910/1920/1930/1940/1950] in One Step. Stephen P. Morse and Joel D. Weintraub.
Provides text descriptions of the boundaries of Enumeration Districts.

Map guide to the U.S. federal censuses, 1790-1920. Print.
Main Libr  folio G1201.F7 T5 1987
All U.S. county maps 1790-1920. Old county boundary lines superimposed on modern ones. 

Sample schedule (partial)


Sample 1850 Census schedule. Source: Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000

Examples of schedules from the 1810 and 1850 censuses.

About

For more information, please consult