Learn the difference between scholarly, professional and popular periodicals to use the type appropriate for your research.
Examples of Scholarly Journals:
Early Childhood Education Journal
Examples of Professional Journals:
Education Week
Chronicle of Higher Education
Phi Delta Kappan
Rethinking Schools
Different user interfaces, but same information; includes articles from professional and scholarly journals, unpublished education articles, reports and case studies.
Newspapers report on trends, policies and controversies in Education. Bowdoin College Library subscribes to the full text news databases below:
New York Times
LexisNexis Academic
Access World News
Newspapers-Current
Newspapers-Historical
Compass Newspaper Article Search
Many of the databases provide journal articles in full text or link to a full text service.
But some do not. Those databases are strictly bibliographic. That is, when you perform a keyword search, the database identifies articles without providing the article's text. The information about the article is called a "citation."
When you have a citation, there are two ways to find the text of the actual article. Most citations in databases have a link that says "check availability" or "Find it at Bowdoin" and clicking that link brings up a box, which lets you know a) the article's in full text or b) the article's in print or microfilm or c) the article's not at Bowdoin but can be obtained through Interlibrary loan.
You can also select the "Newspapers and Journals by Title" tab on the Library Homepage and enter the name of the journal (not the article title) to find the same access information.
