Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013
Please help librarians improve library classes by answering this quick survey.
- Maine: a Community and Environmental History (A Bowdoin Library Guide)
- Maine History (a Bowdoin Library Guide)
- Dictionary Of American History
Main Ref E174 .D52 2003
Multi-volume set with extensive entries on events, movements, people,
and other topics in American history. Articles contain bibliographies.
- The Encyclopedia Of American Facts And Dates
Main Ref E174.5 .C3 1993
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
Main Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Three-volume, specialized encyclopedia of lengthy scholarly signed
articles with bibliographies on social and cultural topics in American
- Encyclopedia of American social movements
Main Ref HN57 .E594 2004
Volume 3 has a section titled “Religious, Utopian, and Health Movements.”
- Readers Companion To American History
Main Ref E174 .R43 1991
- Encyclopedia Of The United States In The Nineteenth Century
Main Ref E169.1 .E626 2001
- Historical Statistics Of The United States Colonial Times To 1970
Govt Ref C3.134/2:H 62/798-970
Not only population, but numbers relating to agriculture, fishing, income, education, etc.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Online version)
- Historical census data browser.
Using data from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and
Social Research (ICPSR), this site allows users to browse selected
census data from 1790 to 1970 by state and county. Data from the early
years (1790 to 1830) focuses solely on population characteristics,
while data after those years include selected economic, manufacturing,
and agricultural information.
- Statistical Abstract Of The United States
Washington : G.P.O. Library owns most years from 1886.
Govt Doc C 3.134: 1886
Online Abstracts begin in 1878.