Skip to main content
Research Guides

English 10: The Real Life of Literature: Home

Welcome

This page provides background information to the "real" events referred to in the novels you are reading.  Most are links to authoritative web sites, some are links to e-reference and other e-books purchased by the Library, and some are links to books on the shelf in the Library.

Finding Background Information for Your Readings

History of Love

 

The Holocaust from the Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies.

Holocaust Encyclopedia from the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Life After the Holocaust  Stories of Holocaust Survivors After the War. from the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum

Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive.  from the University of Michigan.

Holocaust Survivor Interviews on Video on YouTube

 

The Attack

 

Palestine, in the Dictionary of Contemporary World History.  Oxford University Press, 2008.

Israel/Palestine Question. e-book publshed by Routledge, 1999

Nakba: Palestine, 1948, and the Claims of Memory.  e-book published by Columbia University press.

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians.

Encyclopedia of the Palestinian Problem.

 

Disorder Peculiar to the Country

 

Timeline of Top Newstories 2000-2009.  From Facts on File.  See 2001 & 2002

9/11 Memorial.

The Encyclopedia of 9/11

Encyclopedia of Terrorism.--See the entry on anthrax.

 

Famous Suicides of the Japanese Empire

 

Incarceration of Japanese Americans from the Oxford Companion to United States History.

Report on Redress: The Japanese American Internment   from the Handbook of Reparations, Oxford University Press.

Nisei,  From the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Issei, Nissei,,,  From the Minnesota Historical Society.

Japan Glossary from Wa-Pedia

Exploring the Japanese American Internment through Film and the Internet.  From A Niche in American Media.

Japanese American Internment.

Conscience and the Constitution

 

Kindred

Maryland State Archives Presents: The Study of the Legacy of Slavery in Maryland 

 

The Plantation in the Postslavery Imagination.  e-book published by Oxford University Press,
North American Slave Narratives.  From UNC's Documenting the American South project.

 

Grief

 History of AIDS up tol 1986.   From AVERT.org

Mary Todd Lincoln, Her Life and Letters.

Mary Lincoln, wife and widow; part I, by Carl Sandburg; part II, letters, documents & appendix

DOCTORS CITE STIGMA OF AIDS IN DECLINING TO REPORT CASES.  New York Times, 1986 

New Study Says AIDS Bias Grows Faster Than Disease.  New York Times.  1990.

 

Additional Sources

War-Diary.com: The Archive of War Diaries Online

WWI Document Archive

Contact Me for Research Help

Beth Hoppe
Contact:
H-L Library
111A
207-725-3260