Skip to main content
Research Guides

The Politics of Private Life, Hist 2540: Key Databases

History 2540


Henry Nelson O'Neill. Tintoretto Painting His Dead Daughter, 1873. Courtesy Wolverhampton Arts and Museums Service.

Professor: Meghan Roberts

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

Key Databases

Books and dissertations

WorldCat
Contains the holdings of every major library in the U.S. and some in Britain, over 40 million records.

Dissertations and Theses
Millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day along with over a million full-text dissertations that are downloadable as PDFs.

Digital libraries and collections

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digital images of books and ephemera published during the 18th Century, primarily in the U.K. and primarily in English. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Gallica
The digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

europeana
"Multilingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections."

Indexes for journal articles and more

America: History & Life
Primary index for scholarly research on history of the United States and Canada. Articles published 1964-present.

Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations covering the world, with the exception of the U.S. and Canada, back to 1500. Articles published 1967--present.

ITER (Middle Ages and Renaissance Studies)
1843-
Indexes full run of over 300 journals; book, dissertation coverage coming in future; search by keyword, title, author. Post 1990 Renaissance records have subject headings.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page