Skip to main content
Research Guides

The Politics of Development, Gov 2570: Home

1. Development project

Non-Governmental Organizations and Intergovernmental Organizations

According to the definition posted on the website of the Union of International Associations, an intergovernmental organization is one "based on a formal instrument of agreement between the governments of nation states". A non-governmental organization is not.

ResourceIncludes IGOs?Includes NGOs?
International Organizations, from Europa World Plus yes yes
Encyclopedia of associations. International organizations
Bowdoin Main Ref Desk AS22 .E52
yes yes
List of IGOs, Northwestern University Library yes  
Worldwide NGO Directory, World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)   yes
NGO Research Guide, from Duke University Libraries.   yes
International volunteer database, from the Omprakash Foundation   yes

 

World Bank

USAID

DFID

Food for the Hungry

World Vision

Care International

Doctors without Borders

2. News sources

3. Country background

  • Europa world plus. Online version of Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional surveys of the world, including Africa South of the Sahara and The Middle East and North Africa. Older editions:
    The Europa year book, 1963-1966,1971,1975-1988
    Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E85
    The Europa World year book, 1989-
    Bowdoin Main Ref JN1 .E852
  • Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers, International Monetary Fund.
  • List of Foreign Governments, Northwestern University Library. Governments on the WWW may also be useful.

4. Quantitative information

Additional sources for GDP

5. Specific information

a. Ethnic groups

  • CIA World Factbook "provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." Older editions: The world factbook (print and/or online), 1980,1982-1995,1997-

b. Languages

  • Ethnologue "contains information on 7,106 known living languages."

c. Maps

d. Political status

  • Polity IV Individual Country Regime Trends, 1946-2013. "Annual Polity scores have been plotted for each of the 167 countries currently covered by the Polity IV data series for the period 1946-2013 (trend graphs are also included with the Polity IV 2010 Country Reports). This version of the Polity Country Trend graphs display periods of "factionalism" and important Polity change events, including autocratic backsliding, executive auto-coup or autogolpe, revolution, collapse of central authority (state failure), and successful military coups."
  • Freedom House. "Freedom in the World, Freedom House’s flagship publication, is the standard-setting comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties. Published annually since 1972, the survey ratings and narrative reports on 195 countries and 14 related and disputed territories are used by policymakers, the media, international corporations, civic activists, and human rights defenders to monitor trends in democracy and track improvements and setbacks in freedom worldwide."

6. Good academic sources

Books

Databases for articles

  • Use Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary), Historical Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science, and/or PAIS International (originally Public Affairs Information Service), all available from "Articles and Databases" on our front page.

7. Citing your sources

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page