Skip to main content
Research Guides

Community in America, in Maine and at Bowdoin, Hist 3122: Home

Reference Sources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionary Of American History
Main Ref E174 .D52 2003
Multi-volume set with extensive entries on events, movements, people, and other topics in American history. Articles contain bibliographies.

Reader's Companion To American History
Main Ref E174 .R43 1991

Encyclopedia Of The United States In The Nineteenth Century
Main Ref E169.1 .E626 2001

The Encyclopedia Of American Facts And Dates
Main Ref E174.5 .C3 1993

Encyclopedia of American Social History
Main Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Three-volume, specialized encyclopedia of lengthy scholarly signed articles with bibliographies on social and cultural topics in American history.

Encyclopedia of American social movements
Main Ref HN57 .E594 2004

Bibliographies

To find bibliographies, search the Bowdoin catalog, CBB catalog, NExpresscatalog, MaineCat, and/or WorldCat using search terms pertaining to your topic and bibliography.

Dissertations and Theses
A dissertation on (or near) your topic may include a bibliography of core primary and secondary materials.

Statistical sources

Historical Statistics Of The United States Colonial Times To 1970
Historical Statistics of the United States (Online version) 
Govt Ref C3.134/2:H 62/798-970
Not only population, but numbers relating to agriculture, fishing, income, education, etc.

Historical census data browser.
Using data from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), this site allows users to browse selected census data from 1790 to 1970 by state and county. Data from the early years (1790 to 1830) focuses solely on population characteristics, while data after those years include selected economic, manufacturing, and agricultural information.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Govt Doc C 3.134: (print), most years from 1886; most recent year Main Ref Desk HA202 .A2
Statistical Abstract of the United States, online, 1878-2012.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, current edition, online

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page