Skip to main content
Research Guides

Health Care Disparities in the United States, INTD 1010: Home

INTD 1010


Adults ages 18-64 who were uninsured at the time of interview, by race/ethnicity, 2010-2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2014 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report, AHRQ Pub. No. 15-0007 (Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, May 2015), 10, citing as the source National Center for Health Statistics, National Health Interview Survey, 2010-June 2014.
How to cite a table (or chart) using Chicago style.

 

Professor: Stephen Loebs

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

Find Journal Articles

Unless otherwise noted, I suggest starting to search in these databases on phrases such as: "healthcare disparities", "health care disparities", "disparities in health care", etc. Then refine your search using techniques such as Boolean searching.

General and multi-disciplinary

JSTOR
Archive of full-text articles from selected scholarly journals. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue and continues to most recent five years.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering articles published back to 1980.

OneSearch
The single most comprehensive tool for searching the Library's print and electronic resources, containing over a billion records with new resources added monthly.

Medicine and public health

PubMed
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical science.
The MeSH term is: healthcare disparities.

ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

PAIS Index, 1915-
Indexes articles, reports, government and NGO publications related to the making of public policy throughout the world.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

ProQuest Sociology
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

Psychology

PsycInfo
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Political science

Political Science Database
Database of 410 prominent political science journals, about 80% of the articles in full text. All articles published since 1985. 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
An index to 1500 journals of U.S. and international political science. Published back to 1975; 67% of indexed journals are from outside the U.S. 

PAIS Index
, 1915- Indexes articles, reports, government and NGO publications related to the making of public policy throughout the world.

Economics

EconLit
The database indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews with links to full text when available.

More databases by subject or alphabetically.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page

Gems

National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports
"Each year since 2003, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality has produced the National Healthcare Quality Report and the National Healthcare Disparities Report. [...] Beginning with the 2014 reports, findings on health care quality and health care disparities are integrated into a single document."

Dept. of Health and Human Services' Office of Minority Health Resource Center - Knowledge Center, which "contains a collection of 50,000 documents, books, journal articles, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations". You can search their library catalog where you will find many of the resources available full-text.