Skip to main content
Research Guides

Representation, Participation, and Power in American Politics, Gov 1001: Home

Key Databases for Political Science and Government

Academic Search Complete 1980-
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest periodicals. Most articles in full text. 

JSTOR
An archive of full-text articles from selected academic journals in many fields. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue but may not include the most recent three to five years.

Political Science Database 1985-
Database covering leading political science and international relations journals. Substantial percentage of articles in full text.  

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1920-
Abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
An index of official U.S. publications of all kinds--congressional hearings, agency reports and studies, statistics, and more. Coverage back to (at least) 1976; many links to full text.

Selected Sources on Congress

Congressional Documents
Online finding tool for Congressional
publications at Bowdoin College Library.

U.S. Government
Online finding tool for publications
of the U.S. government in general.

CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly) (online, 1983-present)
Govt Index JK1 .C15 (print, 1964-2012)
Published weekly. "In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes."

CQ Almanac (online, 1945-present)
Govt Index JK1 .C66 (print, 1948-present)
Published annually. Narrative coverage of key legislation, controversies and major issues, as well as an appendix of vote counts and other data for each session of Congress.

Congress and the Nation
Govt Index JK411 .C6
print, 1945-present
Another CQ publication, published every four years, covering a presidential term. Description of Congressional actions, issues and politics.

CQ Researcher
Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

C-Span Congressional Chronicle
Member info., committee info., votes, recorded and live video proceedings & hearings, and more.

C-Span Video
Hundreds of videos and live broadcasts on public policy.

GAO Reports
Worth knowing about! GAO is a non-partisan agency that works for Congress. It investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. Their reports can provide terrific background and overview to complex issues.

CRS Reports via ProQuest Congressional
Another great source for non-partisan analysis of policy topics. The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the policy research arm of the Library of Congress that provides reports to members of Congress.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page

Go Mobile!

Many more apps are available.