Skip to main content
Research Guides

The United States Homefront in World War II, Hist 3160: Home

History 3160


Univ of North Texas Digital Collection

Professor: Connie Chiang

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

Soldiers protect Royal River railroad bridge in North Yarmouth


U.S. Office of War Information
Courtesy of Maine Historical Society

Core Databases

Books

WorldCat
Extremely large joint catalog of holdings of libraries, primarily in the U.S. Before requesting, use "Find it @ Bowdoin" to determine whether the material is accessible via CBBcat, NExpress, or MaineCat. If not, use "Request this book via Interlibrary Loan".

Journal articles

America: History & Life
Primary index for scholarly research on history of the United States and Canada. Articles published 1964-present.

Reader's Guide Retrospective; 1890 - 1982 (online)
Main Per Index; 1900 - 2003 (Print)
Index to a broad range of U.S. 20th century magazines.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest articles, published 1980 to present.

PAIS International (formerly Public Affairs Information Service) 1915-1976
Indexes articles, reports, government and ngo publications related to the making of public policy throughout the world.

JSTOR
Full-text articles from selected scholarly journals. Coverage begins with a title’s first issue, but does not include most recent 5 years.

Sociological Abstracts
Index to to scholarly articles in journals of sociology, published from 1952-present.  

Government documents

U.S. Congressional Serial Set. The U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains fulltext legislative reports, documents and journals from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Significant executive agency publications--reports of exploration, technology, finance, immigration, scientific discovery, culture, commerce and warfare included, along with all maps and illustrations.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page

Library of Congress Classification call numbers for World War II

D 731 - D 838

Gems

The American Home Front: Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, World War II "This latest National Defense University military history seeks to broaden the perspective of those who are interested in understanding the effects of the wartime mobilization of American society. Through a comparative analysis of the economic, political, and social results of America's four principal wars, this study reveals the major issues faced by each wartime administration and sketches the consequences of the mobilization policies adopted."