Skip to main content
Research Guides

Finding Resources @ Bowdoin and Beyond: Finding and Requesting Articles

Finding articles in journals, newspapers, & magazines

For more in-depth research on your topic, search for journal and newspaper articles.

Does Bowdoin subscribe to a specific journal title?

To locate a particular journal, newspaper or magazine title:

Search for the title of the journal magazine or newspaper through the "Journal Titles A-Z" on the Library homepage.
(Hint: Enter the "source" (SO) or journal title found in your citation.)

We may have the journal in a variety of formats, print and electronic, and in a variety of our databases.  Click on the link that most closely matches the date of publication, volume or issue number you need.

If the article is not available at Bowdoin, you may request an individual article from the journal through our interlibrary loan service. More information on requesting articles is available on this page under "Not Available at Bowdoin?"

 

Is the article available at Bowdoin?

Indexes and databases may contain links to the full-text of an article or just a citation or bibliographic information that includes the title of the article, the journal title where the article may be found, and other information you will need to locate the article. 

If there is only a citation, full-text of the article may be available at Bowdoin in one of our other databases, it may also be available in print at Bowdoin, or it may be available on request from another library.

To locate the full-text of an article at Bowdoin:

Look for the "Find it @ Bowdoin" or "Check Availability @ Bowdoin" link. (In most indexes the link is adjacent to the citation.) 

Click on the link; the article and journal title will automatically be searched in our available resources. 

                                         

We may have the article in a variety of formats, print and electronic, and in a variety of our databases.  Click on the link that most closely matches date of publication, volume or issue number you need.

If the article is not available at Bowdoin, you may request the article through our interlibrary loan service. More information on requesting articles is available on this page under "Not Available at Bowdoin?"

 

Not available at Bowdoin?

To request an article not available at Bowdoin, including articles from Bates and Colby,

 

  •  Look for the "Request this item via Interlibrary Loan" link in your
    "Find it @ Bowdoin" or "Check Availability... " results, 

      OR