Skip to main content
Research Guides

Maps: Maps in Bowdoin College Library

Options for searching for maps & atlases in CBBcat

Note that not all of our maps are cataloged. Use similar techniques to search WorldCat (a catalog of the holdings of most major libraries in the U.S.), HathiTrust (great for federal government publications and materials published before 1923), and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (for Federal government publications after 1976; use advanced search).

  1. To find sheet maps and atlases in our catalog, do an advanced keyword search in CBBcat, limiting to "Material Type" = "Map" and/or "MS Map" (manuscript map).

  2. To find books on a topic of interest, e.g. Maine, that have maps in them such as histories, travelogues, travel guides, and other materials presumably presenting a spatial perspective, search in CBBcat on
    maine AND (n:(map OR maps OR atlas*) or d:(map OR maps OR atlas*))
    This searches for the given terms in the Note, Description, Summary, and Contents fields as well as in the Subject Headings. Since results will include materials about maps as well, look especially at records having map (maps) or atlas (atlases) in the Description field or after a dash in the Subject headings (e.g. Equality -- Maps; Maine -- Atlases).

  3. To find books about maps and a topic of interest, e.g. Maine, subject search in CBBcat as follows:
    maine AND d:(map OR maps OR atlas*)

Sheet maps in Bowdoin College Library

Sheet maps in Bowdoin College Library are held in the collections listed below.

Maps Collection

The following major sheet map series are held in the small Maps Collection in H-L Library. (The Maps Collection is on the lower level near the microforms.)

  • Maine Transportation Maps
  • U.S. Government Maps
  • Miscellaneous Maps

George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives

Contact Special Collections and Archives staff for information about their holdings.

Hatch Science Library

  • Maine Geological Survey maps
  • USGS Geological Quadrangle maps
  • USGS topographical maps, 7.5' and 15'
  • other miscellaneous maps

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page