Skip to main content
Research Guides

Maine Newspapers: Maine Newspapers

Historical Maine Newspapers

Significant runs held at Bowdoin College Library

Maine Times, 1968-2002
Main Micro
The Maine Times was an alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.
Indexing:
Maine Times Cumulative Index, 1968-1973, Main Per Index
Maine Times Index, 1973-1994, Main Per Index
Maine News Index Online, 1993-2002
Index to New England Periodicals, 1977-1982, Main Per

Bangor Daily News, 1904,1940-54,1958,1972,1974,1978,1997-present
Main Micro

The Brunswick Telegraph, 1853-1903
Main Micro
For indexing use: Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers, 1853-December 1960

The Brunswick Record, 1902-1966

The Times Record, 1967-
Main Micro
For indexing use: Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers, 1853-December 1960

Portland Press Herald and Sunday Telegram, 1954-
Main Micro
For indexing, use: Maine News Index Online

Full-text newspapers and newspaper databases

Date coverage depends on the newspaper.

Bowdoin Orient, 1871-2010

Casco Bay Weekly, 1988-2004
free and independent newsweekly

Maine Newsstand
(as of 29 Sept 2014)
Bangor Daily News, Jul 1, 1993 - present
Kennebec Journal, Aug 21, 2005 - present
Maine Times, Feb 04, 1994 - Apr 25, 2002
Morning Sentinel, Aug 21, 2005 - present
Portland Press Herald, Sep 30, 1995 - present, some exceptions
Sun Journal, Jan 26, 2006 - present

Access World News

America's Historical Newspapers

American Periodicals Series Online

LexisNexis Academic
includes (as of July 2013): Bangor Daily News, 1994-; Portland Press Herald, 1995-October 21, 2011; and The Original Irregular (Kingfield, Maine), October 4, 2006-December 10, 2008

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
includes 3 Maine newspapers from the 1800s (as of July 2013)

ProQuest Newsstand

More current and historical newspapers at Bowdoin

Newspaper holdings

Newspaper holdings at Bowdoin

CBBcat

Historic newspaper holdings at Bowdoin College Library's Special Collections

Maine Newspaper Project 1999
Preliminary list of Holdings, February 9, 1998. Includes holdings for Bowdoin College Library.

Newspaper holdings at other libraries and archives

Maine Historical Society newspapers and catalog.

Portland History at the Portland Public Library
"Portland Public Library is the top research and preservation resource for the history of the Greater Portland area." Also very strong in Maine historical newspapers.

Historical newspapers, at University of Maine Orono, Fogler Library, on microfilm or paper copies

Current Maine Newspapers

Bangor Daily News, 1904,1940-54,1958,1972,1974,1978,1997-present
Main Micro

Portland Press Herald and Sunday Telegram, 1954-
Main Micro
For indexing, consult: Maine News Index Online

The Times Record, 1967-
Main Micro

Maine Newsstand (as of 29 Sept 2014)
Bangor Daily News, Jul 1, 1993 - present
Kennebec Journal, Aug 21, 2005 - present
Maine Times, Feb 04, 1994 - Apr 25, 2002
Morning Sentinel, Aug 21, 2005 - present
Portland Press Herald, Sep 30, 1995 - present, some exceptions Sun Journal, Jan 26, 2006 - present

Access World News
includes several Maine newspapers

LexisNexis Academic
As of July 2013, includes: Bangor Daily News, 1994-; Portland Press Herald, 1995-October 21, 2011; and The Original Irregular (Kingfield, Maine), October 4, 2006-December 10, 2008

ProQuest Newsstand
includes several Maine newspapers

More current and historical newspapers

Newspaper indexes

Newspaper indexes provide indexing for newspaper articles, but not the full-text of them.

Index to New England Periodicals, 1977-1982
Main Per
Index to Portland newspapers: 1785-1835
Main Ref F27 .P9 J7
a.k.a. "Jordan Index". Selective index covering: Falmouth Gazette (1785-1786), Cumberland Gazette (1786-1791), Eastern Herald (1792-1804), Portland Gazette (1798-1824), Eastern Argus (1803-1835), Portland Advertiser (1824-1835), Daily Courier (1830-1832), Christian Mirror (1822-1835), Christian Pilot (1832-1835), Downing Gazette (1834-1836), Maine Farmer (1833-1835), Yankee Farmer (1835), The Jeffersonian (1833-1834), Independent Statesman (1821-1825), The Yankee (1828), Family Reader (1829-1833)
Maine News Index Online
The Maine News Index begins in 1945 and covers 12 Maine newspapers and magazines. Pre-online coverage may be consulted at Portland Public Library.
Maine Times
Maine Times Cumulative Index, 1968-1973, Main Micro Index
Maine Times Index, 1973-1994, Main Micro Index
Maine News Index Online, 1993-2002 (from Portland Public Library)
The Maine Times was a pioneering alternative weekly with a focus on the environment, politics and social issues.
Snow Index to Brunswick Newspapers, 1853-December 1960

Newspaper directories

Use these directories of newspapers to find newspapers published in particular location and to find out how to access the newspaper you are looking for.

Maine Newspaper Project 1999
Preliminary list of Holdings, February 9, 1998. Includes holdings for Bowdoin College Library.

U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, Library of Congress' Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Digitized newspapers

Newspaper digitization projects, International Coalition on Newspapers, Center for Research Libraries

U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, Library of Congress' Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. "Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."

Historical Newspapers Online, from the University of Pennsylvania