Research Guides: European History: Home

Key Databases

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more...provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Dates of Coverage: 1450-Present.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database is comprised of articles derived from regular coverage of periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists. Dates of Coverage: 1967-Present.
ITER (Middle Ages and Renaissance Studies)
An Open URL-and Zotero-enabled bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertations abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Dates of Coverage: 1784-Present.
Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. International in scope. Dates of Coverage: 1665-2000.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
Collection of dissertations and theses. The official dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research...Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and these from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Dates of Coverage: 1861-Present.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database that covers journals and magazines. Also contains hundreds of monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR
Note: If you receive an error message while using JSTOR, please try clearing all JSTOR cache and cookies and searching again. While accessing it from off campus, you may also find that JSTOR works better in a private or incognito window, or over Bowdoin's VPN.

JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.

How to find historiographies

Historiographies are published more commonly as article-length than as book-length works. Generally, use broader search terms when searching for books.

Some scholarly articles available through Historical Abstracts are historiographical in nature. Consider ANDing in the word historiography (which is a subject), e.g.
revolution* AND historiography
Broaden out the search by ORing in "review essay":
revolution* AND (historiography OR "review essay")
The following journals frequently include historiographies. They are indexed in Historical Abstracts.
- "History Compass publishes peer-reviewed articles on the most important research and thinking across the entire discipline, with no restrictions in terms of geography, time period or historical methodology."
- Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
- History & Theory
Dissertators are expected to do thorough literature reviews. The lit reviews of some dissertations in history qualify as historiographies. Search for dissertations in Dissertations and Theses Full Text.
Some reference sources in the series "Oxford Handbook", "Oxford Bibliographies", "Cambridge Companion", "Blackwell Companions", etc. may include historiographies. Example: Nineteenth-century France. Search for them in Compass including one of the series titles, e.g.
(france or french) AND "Oxford Bibliographies"
Search in Compass and WorldCat, including the word historiography. You may need to use more general search terms, e.g.
(france OR french) AND historiography

Subject Guide

Erin Valentino

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Room 111-D in H-L

207-725-3749

Subjects: Art History, Visual Arts

European History: Home

See Also -- History

Key Databases

How to find historiographies

Subject Guide