Skip to main content
Research Guides

Frontier Crossings: the Western Experience in American History, Hist 1020/ENVS 1015: Home

Hist 1020/ENVS 1015

Professor: Matt Klingle

Librarian: Barbara Levergood

Indexes/Databases for Journal Articles

History

America History and Life
The most comprehensive index to scholarly articles on the history of the U.S. and Canada.

General

Academic Search Complete
Indexing and full text for a broad range of scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and science, as well as newspapers.

JSTOR
Coverage begins with a title’s first issue but does not usually include the most recent years.

Art

Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art Online)

Other Bowdoin databases in Art History

Background on Locating Journal Articles

Our lists of databases, alphabetical or by subject.

Citation only

Some databases do not provide journal articles in full-text, but rather provide only citations, i.e. information identifying the article with author, article title, journal title, date, volume and issue numbers, page numbers, etc. To get the article, take this information and follow the directions below under "If you already know the title of the journal...".

Directly to full-text

Some databases link directly to full-text journal articles using a link such as PDF full-text, Linked full-text, full-text, full-text - PDF, Article PDF, etc.

Indirectly to full-text and/or other formats

Many citations in many databases have a link reading Find it @ Bowdoin, check availability, or something similar. Clicking that link brings up a window which tells you whether the article (a) is available in full-text, or (b) is available in print or microfilm at Bowdoin, or (c) is not available at Bowdoin but can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

If you already know the title of the journal...

you can select the Journal Titles A-Z tab on the Library Homepage and enter the journal (not the article) title. If we have access to that journal, you'll find a list of full-text subscriptions or other print or microform choices for accessing the article. If the journal is not available at Bowdoin, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page