Skip to main content
Research Guides

The Common Good? A History of International Aid, Hist 3360/AFRS 3306: Home

Library Catalogs

in:
 
Advanced Search CBBcat Help
 
in:






Loading

Library Catalog Descriptions

Use these catalogs - in the order given - to identify books and e-books, videos, music scores and sound recordings, magazine and journal titles,* newspaper titles,* some government documents, and more...

CBBcat
The library catalog shared by Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin Colleges. Request materials from Colby or Bates using "CBB Request". To locate books within Bowdoin Library, limit your search to just Bowdoin materials; make a note of the location and call number. Access to e-books labelled "Colby Access" or "Bates Access" but not "Bowdoin Access" are not accessible from Bowdoin. Search tips: If you are looking for a specific book, search CBBcat by title or author. For searching a topic, start with a keyword search. When you find some relevant titles, check the subject headings to focus your search or find additional terms for subject searching.

NExpress
Database of library holdings of several colleges in New England. NExpress can also be searched from within CBBcat. Request using "Request this item". FAQ

MaineCat
Database of the holdings of academic and public libraries in Maine. MaineCat can also be searched from within CBBcat. Request using "Request This Item". About | List of MaineCat libraries

WorldCat
Extremely large joint catalog of holdings of libraries, primarily in the U.S. Before requesting, use "Find it @ Bowdoin" to determine whether the material is accessible via CBBcat, NExpress, or MaineCat. If not, use "Request this book via Interlibrary Loan".

*To find articles in journal, magazine or newspaper titles, please search our article databases.

Publications of agencies and organizations

Some options for identifying and/or acquiring publications of U.S. government agencies, international governmental organizations and NGOs. If fulltext is not provided through a particular database, use one of the other sources of fulltext mentioned in this box.

  • library catalogs, including WorldCat, a national database of cataloging (above)
  • For U.S. government agencies, look at the agency website, search the Bowdoin catalog, search the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (which includes some links to fulltext), and browse the Government Documents collection under the SuDocs number for that agency (e.g., USAID is S 18 and ID 1). For materials pre-1976, ask Barbara Levergood for assistance.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight. Not just for statistics! 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
  • PAIS Index, 1915-. Index for "publications on all subjects that bear on contemporary public issues and the making and evaluation of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries." Sources include articles, books, government documents and NGO reports.
  • organization's catalog. For instance:
    • UNBISNET, 1979-. "Catalogue of United Nations (UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward."
    • OECD iLibrary. "The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. [...] OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)."
  • organization's website
  • Google

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page