Skip to main content
Research Guides

Nature and Health in America, Hist 3180: Home

HIST 3180/ENVS 3980, Spring 2015

Selected Resources

Secondary sources

America: History and Life. The primary database for journal articles in American history.

WorldCat. Database contains the holdings of every major library in the U.S. and some in Britain, over 40 million records. Also includes some archival materials.

Primary sources

Newspapers, magazines, and journals

Archives & Libraries

Finding aid, Medical School of Maine: Historical Records and Files, George J. Mitchell Department of Special Collections & Archives, Bowdoin College Library.

Maine Historical Society has materials on medical history, including Dr. Jeremiah Barker's (1752-1835) manuscript history of 18th century diseases in Maine and Dr. Alexander Ramsey's early 19th century anatomical drawings

U.S. Congressional Serial Set. The single most significant primary source for American history. Includes both congressional and executive agency publications--reports of exploration, technology, finance, immigration, scientific discovery, culture, commerce and warfare, along with maps and illustrations.

Bubonic Plague in the Subway System? Don’t Worry About It, New York Times, 6 February 2015

The Air of the New York Subway Prior to 1906George A. Soper, 1907 Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution, 5365 H.doc.847, 60-1, 647-667, in U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Proceedings of American Medical Association on cholera, 835 S.misdoc.76, 1856, in U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Congressional hearings can be excellent sources for information, data, and perspective on public policy-related issues. Ask us for assistance in finding hearings.

Lyme Disease: A Diagnostic and Treatment Dilemma, 1993

Health effects of smokeless tobacco, including Green Tobacco Sickness, 1995

Regulation of diethylstilbestrol (DES), 1975

City planning. Hearing before the Committee on the District of Columbia, United States Senate, on the subject of city planning, 1910. (Exceptionally, a hearing found in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.)

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page