Skip to main content
Bowdoin College Library

Constitutional Law II, Gov 2021: Home

Key Law Databases

LexisNexis Academic

Full-text subscription database of federal and state cases, statutes, law reviews and news.

  • To find U.S. law review articles, use the "Look up a Legal Case" box and then click on the "Law Reviews" link.
  • To find U.S. cases, use the box titled "Look up a Legal Case".
    • Click on the "cases" link within that box then use "Advanced Options" to limit by date or jurisdiction; "Build Your Own Segment Search" allows you to search for terms among the core terms, headnotes, etc. For example: CORE-TERMS(evolution) AND HEADNOTES("establishment of religion")
  • To search the U.S. Code, click on "Search by Subject or Topic" > Legal: "Federal Statutes and Regulations". Under "Advanced Options", check only "Annotated U.S. Code (USCS)".
  • To find U.S. public laws, click on "Search by Subject or Topic" > Legal: "Federal Statutes and Regulations". Under "Advanced Options", check only "Public Laws".
  • To find foreign cases, click on "Search by Subject or Topic" > "International Legal", then choose either "Canadian Cases" or "EU, Commonwealth, and other Nations". If you choose "EU...", make your choice(s) under "Sources". Note: coverage varies.
  • It is not possible to simultaneously search all U.S. and foreign law reviews without selecting each by hand. To search selected law reviews, choose Browse (at top of front page) > Law Reviews & Journals folder > select desired titles > OK-continue. To search combined US & Canadian, UK, Australian, and/or Brazilian law reviews, choose Browse (at top of front page) > Law Reviews & Journals folder > Multiple/Single Source > Multiple-source Files > select desired titles > OK-continue.
  • To find other materials that cite a particular case, choose "Next Steps" (at the top right) > Shepardize.

Help: LexisNexis Academic Knowledge Center, including Natural Language and Boolean Searching.


Westlaw

Full-text subscription database of case law, law reviews, and news.

  • To find U.S. law review articles, choose "All content" > "Secondary Sources" > "Law Reviews & Journals". Alternatively, from a results list, if available, choose "Secondary Sources" or "Context & Analysis", then "Law Review Commentaries".
  • To find U.S. cases, choose "All content" > "cases".
  • To search the U.S. Code, choose "Federal Materials" > "United States Code Annotated (USCA)".
  • To find European Union cases, law review articles, legislation, etc., choose: Browse > All Content > International Materials.
  • To find other materials that cite a particular case, law, law review article, etc., click on the "Citing References" tab.
  • Black's Law Dictionary is under "All content" > "Secondary Sources" and in the right column.

Help: "Campus Help Guide" [i.e. "Introduction to legal research on Westlaw Next"] is linked to at the bottom of every Westlaw webpage. Other guides, including Searching with Boolean Terms and Connectors are also available.


HeinOnline's Law Journal Library

From the "All Collections" drop-down (at the top left), choose "Law Journal Library". Coverage from the first issue of "more than 2300 law and law-related periodicals". Our strongest database for foreign law reviews.

Help: Training Guides, including Advanced Search Syntax.


Index to Legal Periodicals and books, 1982-
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective, 1908-1981

International coverage and access to law reviews, scholarly articles, jurisdictional surveys, legislation, and more. Search on a citation to a case in the "Court Cases" field. Search on a citation to the U.S. Code using the form "8 U.S.C. 1158" in the "Statute" field. The "check availability" link connects to full-text in most cases.


JSTOR

An online archive of scholarly journals, including a number of respected law reviews. This can be an especially useful database to search when looking for law reviews for cases decided prior to 1982.

Background on Locating Journal Articles

Our lists of databases, alphabetical or by subject.

Citation only

Some databases do not provide journal articles in full-text, but rather provide only citations, i.e. information identifying the article with author, article title, journal title, date, volume and issue numbers, page numbers, etc. To get the article, take this information and follow the directions below under "If you already know the title of the journal...".

Directly to full-text

Some databases link directly to full-text journal articles using a link such as PDF full-text, Linked full-text, full-text, full-text - PDF, Article PDF, etc.

Indirectly to full-text and/or other formats

Many citations in many databases have a link reading Find it @ Bowdoin, check availability, or something similar. Clicking that link brings up a window which tells you whether the article (a) is available in full-text, or (b) is available in print or microfilm at Bowdoin, or (c) is not available at Bowdoin but can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

If you already know the title of the journal...

you can select the Journal Titles A-Z tab on the Library Homepage and enter the journal (not the article) title. If we have access to that journal, you'll find a list of full-text subscriptions or other print or microform choices for accessing the article. If the journal is not available at Bowdoin, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Guide

Barbara Levergood's picture
Barbara Levergood
 
Contact:
Bowdoin College
H-L Library, Office 110B
3000 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8421
fax: 207-725-3083
blevergo@bowdoin.edu
207-725-3351
Website / Blog Page